making

Make it two

I want to preface this post with the disclaimer that toe-up socks and I just do not get on. I’ve tried, I really have, but everything about them just irks me. Shaping a toe with increases rather than decreases ends up messy, neat and stretchy cast offs are far fiddlier than neat and stretchy cast ons, and (until this week) I had yet to find a toe up heel that actually fit.

I knew this about myself, and yet I still threw myself into knitting a pair of toe up socks. I had a small contrast skein I wanted to make the most of, I had the knew Fish Lips Kiss Heel pattern to try, and to be honest, I was a little grumpy that something as small as a toe up sock had me flummoxed.

Attempt one resulted in a symmetrical toe. It looked alright but feet are not wedge shaped, and I was having trouble fitting the damn thing on the little cardboard foot from the FLK pattern. I frogged it.

Attempt two was more foot shaped, it was also messy and weird looking. I frogged it again.

Attempt three was serviceable. Not as good as a top-down toe, but good enough.

At this point I spent most of a day trying different stripe widths. Single row helix stripes, five row chunky stripes, two row “goldilocks” stripes. I hated them all. I had to admit that the problem wasn’t really the stripes. It was the colours.

Don’t get me wrong, there is nothing at all wrong with the colours themselves, but despite how much I loved them together, put them in sock form, add some striping, and all I can see is christmas.img_9578

Now I love christmas, I do. But I’m more a fan of gold and silver and shiny and white and maybe some green in the form of a tree. Red and green, not really my thing. In the process of trying to convince myself that I could make these work, I came across a gorgeous photo on pinterest of some two-colour, stripey, fraternal socks.

I took a deep breath. I frogged again.*

Two and a half days later?

img_9658-1

Sock!**


*I only ripped back to the end of the toe, which is currently hanging out on some spare needles, may as well have a head start on the next pair.

**Not featured: me knitting the cuff about three times, and casting off twice because I couldn’t decide between 2×2 and 1×1 knitting

 

Leave a Reply

